Monday, September 4, 2017

Nikitenko Sweeps 3rd Annual Tyler Fedyk Memorial

Sheryl Fedyk Photo

Greg Cybulski, MINOT, ND (September 4, 2017) The Western North Dakota Sprint Cars invaded Nodak Speedway as part of Minot, North Dakota's annual Motor Magic weekend. The event is a Labour Day tradition in the Magic City, featuring literally everything to do with cars, including a classic car show, drag racing and dirt track racing.

On Sunday evening, the third running of the Tyler Fedyk Memorial sprint car race took place with a full 20 car field on track. Fedyk, who crewed for his cousin Kyle, died in a tragic accident during Motor Magic at Nodak Speedway in 2010. The memorial race was created by family, friends and the speedway in his honour starting in 2015.

Minot's Greg Nikitenko swept both his heat race plus the $2000-to-win Western North Dakota Sprint Car event A Main.

Taking advantage of starting on the pole position, Nikitenko maintained his front row advantage to capture the checkered flag in the 20 lap feature and roll his 6N sprint car into victory lane.

Estevan, Saskatchewan's Kyle Fedyk was the hard charger of the evening, starting in 13th and finishing in 4th place.

Rounding up the Top 5 were Greg Nikitenko, Nick Omdahl, Zach Wilde, Kyle Fedyk and Ryder Olson

Western North Dakota Sprints
Nodak Speedway, Minot, ND
Sunday, September 3, 2017

1. 6N Greg Nikitenko
2. 0 Nick Omdahl
3. 6 Zach Wilde
4. 91K Kyle Fedyk
5. 21 Ryder Olson
6. 10T Tyson Turnbull
7. 8H Jade Hastings
8. 99 Jordan Graham
9. 91M Jackson Moffett
10. 10 Anthony Farnsworth
11. 20 Kevin Lawson
12. 55 Tee Young
13. 90 Randy Blotsky
14. 20L Dusty Lawson
15. 14H Bill Holler
16. 12 Brayden Pengilly
17. 4 Colton T Young
18. 6A Terry Arneson (DNF)
19. 17M Todd Mickelson (DNF)
20. 9 Jeffrey Stein (DNF)

Heat Winners: Jackson Moffett and Greg Nikitenko

Nick Omdahl photo courtesy of Tyler Hagen Photography

In Saturday night's feature, the 8H of Jade Hastings lead the most laps, but in the end it wasn't to be as Nick Omdahl overtook the leader with 6 laps remaining to capture the checkered flag.

The 20 lap A Main featured 3 notable hard chargers. They were Todd Mickelson (P15-P8), Dusty Lawson (P16-P10) and Tyson Turnbull (P17-P12)

Western North Dakota Sprints
Nodak Speedway, Minot, ND
Saturday, September 2, 2017

1. 0 Nick Omdahl
2. 8H Jade Hastings
3. 21 Ryder Olson
4. 91K Kyle Fedyk
5. 6N Greg Nikitenko
6. 99 Jordan Graham
7. 90 Randy Blotsky
8. 17M Todd Mickelson
9. 91M Jackson Moffett
10. 20L Dusty Lawson
11. 55 Tee Young
12. 10T Tyson Turnbull
13. 20 Kevin Lawson
14. 12 Brayden Pengilly
15. 14H Bill Holler
16. 9 Jeffrey Stein
17. 6A Terry Arneson
18. 6 Zach Wilde (DNF)
19. 10 Anthony Farnsworth (DNF)
20. 4 Colton T Young (DNF)

Heat Winners: Nick Omdahl, Kyle Fedyk, Ryder Olson

Final scheduled racing action for the Western North Dakota Sprints is Saturday, September 16 at Williston Basin Speedway, Williston, ND as part of their annual Fall Roundup weekend.

Western North Dakota Sprints travel to race tracks in Eastern Saskatchewan and Western North Dakota including Estevan Motor Speedway, Nodak Speedway, Dacotah Speedway and Williston Basin Speedway. Be sure to follow the Western North Dakota Sprints on Facebook.